Canton, Ohio, DUI/DWI/OVI Defense Lawyer
Drunk driving is called operating a motor vehicle while impaired, or OVI, in Ohio, although it is more commonly known as DUI or DWI. The penalties are very serious. For a first offense, you face a minimum of three days in jail, a fine of $300 to $1,000 and a driver's license suspension of six months to three years. When you add the cost of paying high-risk insurance once your driver's license is reinstated, a DUI/DWI conviction poses a significant hardship on your family.
I'm Michael Boske, a criminal defense lawyer in Canton, Ohio. I defend clients arrested for DUI/DWI/OVI throughout Northeastern Ohio. I offer a free initial consultation to discuss your drunk driving case and possible defenses.
My first approach in any drunk driving case is to conduct a thorough investigation of your stop and arrest. If the police did not have a legal reason for pulling you over or arresting you, it may be possible get the charges reduced or dismissed.
To convict you of drunk driving, the prosecutor must prove you were intoxicated, using the results of a field sobriety test or Breathalyzer test. I am one of the few DUI/DWI/OVI defense lawyers in Northeastern Ohio who is certified to conduct the standard field sobriety test. This helps me determine whether your sobriety test was properly administered. If you blow .08 or higher on a Breathalyzer test, those results may be challenged if the machine was not properly tested or calibrated.
Even if you are guilty of DUI/DWI/OVI and the state can prove it, a lawyer can help you negotiate the penalties. Since the driver's license suspension can vary from six months to three years, the difference between a minimum and maximum sentence can make a big difference in your life. Some courts in Northeastern Ohio routinely give out sentences that are higher than the state minimum, even when the person charged has never been in legal trouble before. You should never plead guilty to any criminal offense unless you know what the consequences will be.
In Ohio, you can appeal your administrative driver's license suspension with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles within five days of your DUI/DWI/OVI arrest. Defenses include whether the arrest was based on reasonable grounds and whether you were made aware of the consequences of refusing the test.
Free attorney consultation
For a free initial consultation about your DUI/DWI/OVI defense case, contact criminal defense lawyer Michael Boske in Canton, Ohio.